Associated Students of Orange Coast College SGOCC Student Senate and Executive Board

Minutes

Friday, September 30, 2016; 9:00 a.m.

ASOCC Office

2701 Fairview Road • Costa Mesa, California 92626 • (714) 432-5730

I. Organizational Items

I.01 Call to Order: 9:05 a.m.

I.02 Roll Call

Student Senators: Alexis Marfil (arrived at 9:30 a.m.), Basant ElGhayati, Christy Nguyen, Giang Nguyen (arrived at 9:08 a.m.) Karen Caspa, Miguel Cruz, Omar Haddad, Stephannie DiGaetano

Executive Board: Daria Antonova (left meeting at 10:45 a.m.), Ashley Quinn, Jessica Riestra, Juan Partida (absent), Leanna Gutierrez (arrived at 9:07 a.m.), Parker Hawkins, Joshua Recalde

Advisor: Michael Morvice

Staff: Eva Shaffer

I.03 Opportunity for Pledge of Allegiance

I.04 Approval of Minutes

Minutes from Associated Students of Orange Coast College (ASOCC), Student Government of Orange Coast College (SGOCC) Student Senate Meeting dated September 23, 2016 approved without objection.

II. Public Forum

This time is reserved for members of the public to address the Senate on issues on or not already appearing on the agenda. A limit of five (5) minutes per speaker and fifteen (15) minutes per topic will be enforced. This is not a period of discussion for the Senate, however, the Senate President may respond to specific questions and concerns made by the public.

III. Reports

III.04 Standing/Ad-hoc/Special Committees

- 1. Sustainability Committee Giang Nguyen provided her report.
- 2. Constitution & Bylaws Committee No Report.
- 3. Fall 2016 Student Senate Special Elections Taskforce Jessica Riestra provided her report.

IV. Unfinished Business

V. New Business

All items under new business are discussion and/or action items. Attachments are available in the ASOCC Office.

V.01 2016-2017 Fiscal Affairs Council Appointment Recommendations

Discussion and possible action regarding the appointment of new members to the 2016-2017 Fiscal Affairs Council.

Motion by Basant ElGhayati to appoint Dave Yount and Daniel Park as members to the 2016-2017 Fiscal Affairs Council; 2nd by Joshua Recalde. Motion passes without objection.

V.02 Participatory Governance Committee (PGC)

Discussion and possible appointment of permanent PGC student representatives.

Motion by Joshua Recalde to appoint the following students representative to their respective Participatory Governance Committee; 2^{nd} by Leanna Gutierrez. Motion passes without objection.

Stephannie DiGaetano - Academic Petition Council

Basant ElGhayati - Academic Senate

Kristina Tseng - Accreditation Coordinating Committee and Institutional Effectiveness Committee

Giang Nguyen - Administrative Services Planning Committee

Ashley Quinn - College Budget

Leanna Gutierrez - College Council Committee

Samantha Sakamoto - Curriculum Committee

Julie Recalde - Student Success & Enrollment Committee

Jessica Riestra - Student Success & Enrollment Committee and International & Multicultural Committee

Alexis Marfil - Facilities Planning Committee

Miguel Cruz - Facilities Planning Committee

Karen Caspa - Institutional Advancement & Effectiveness Planning Council

Shaline J. De Guzman - International & Multicultural Committee

Joshua Recalde - Instructional Planning Council

Daria Antonova - Safety Committee

Omar Haddad - Senior Day

Christy Nguyen - Sustainability Committee

Motion by Joshua Recalde to call to question; 2^{nd} by Alexis Marfil. Call to question passes 12-1.

Recorded Vote: Alexis Marfil- Aye Ashley Quinn - Aye Basant ElGhayati - Aye Christy Nguyen - Aye Daria Antonova - Aye Giang Nguyen - Aye Jessica Riestra - Aye

Joshua Recalde - Aye Juan Partida - Absent Leanna Gutierrez - Aye Miguel Cruz - No Omar Haddad - Aye Parker Hawkins - Aye Stephannie DiGaetano - Aye

Motion by Joshua Recalde to strike "Free bus passes for all interested students on-campus" from 2016-2017 Student Senate and Executive Board Goals; 2nd by Ashley Quinn. Motion passes 10-3.

Recorded Vote:

Alexis Marfil- Aye Ashley Quinn - Aye Basant ElGhayati - Aye Christy Nguyen - Aye Daria Antonova - Aye Giang Nguyen - No Jessica Riestra - No Joshua Recalde - Aye Juan Partida - Absent Leanna Gutierrez - No Miguel Cruz - Aye Omar Haddad - Aye Parker Hawkins - Aye Stephannie DiGaetano - Aye

Motion by Joshua Recalde to call to question; 2nd by Ashley Quinn. Call to question passes without objection.

Motion by Joshua Recalde to strike "Water Refill Stations" from 2016-2017 Student Senate and Executive Board Goals; 2nd by Christy Nguyen.

Motion to amend to strike "Water Refill Stations" from 2016-2017 Student Senate and Executive Board Goals and refer to Sustainability Committee; 2nd by Ashley Quinn. Motion to amend passes without objection.

Amended motion to strike "Water Refill Stations" from 2016-2017 Student Senate and Executive Board Goals and refer to Sustainability Committee passes without objection.

VI. Public Forum Two

This time is reserved for members of the public to address the Senate on issues on or not already appearing on the agenda. A limit of five (5) minutes per speaker and fifteen (15) minutes per topic will be enforced. This is not a period of discussion for the Senate, however, the Senate President may respond to specific questions and concerns made by the public.

VII. General SGOCC Reports

VII.01 Advisors' Report (Limited to 2 minutes per report)

VII.02 Board, Officer, and Staff Reports (Limited to 2 minute per person)

VIII. Adjournment: 11:02 a.m.